LOGO
Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 05-08-2008, 12:32 AM   #1
Oberjej

Default Chris Evert: Hello?
Has anyone seen Evert's commentary on Justine's sudden retirement in this month's issue of Tennis Magazine? I'm stunned.

There's no online link that I can find, so I'm retyping the front matter, which in particular struck me. Forgive me if there are typos.

Adieu?

by Chris Evert
page 10
Tennis Magazine, August 2008

Nobody saw it coming. Just weeks before her 26th birthday and the start of the French Open, the tournament she had dominated for the past three years, Justine Henin called it a career. Stunned as I was, I could relate to her situation. When I was 24, I thought I was through. I had been playing professionally for about eight years, had reached No. 1, and was looking over my shoulder at young players like Tracy Austin. I wondered if there was anything left for me to accomplish. I was also married and the fire to compete just wasn't there. As a result I took four months off and got away from the game, which did me a world of good. After the break, I felt revitalized and was ready to return to the tour.

So while I understand how Henin feels, I was surprised so was so definite in her announcement.

I'm curious as to why she didn't take six months to a year off to recharge and see if that would rejuvinate her. From Bjorn Borg and Martina Hingis to Andre Agassi and Jennifer Capriati, tennis has a rich history of great players who retire or take long breaks in their primes. And most of them come back. Perhaps the Williams sisters have been right all along. By wandering in and out of the game and doing what they want in life, they're the ones who have avoided burnout...

If you want to read the whole piece, which then focuses on Henin's distinguished career, you'll have to score a copy of Tennis Magazine. I just don't feel like typing the whole thing.
My reactions.