LOGO
Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 07-05-2012, 01:50 PM   #1
siklop

Default Confused about Buddhism and the soul
Howdy guys,

As i am new to Buddhism thought i should get the most important question out of the way.

i have read here and elsewhere that Buddha did not believe in the soul-I was just wondering...well...why? i mean the soul, for me, has everything to do with experiences that you get with meditation for example or the will to stop the suffering of the world, which surely is what is being taught. so I thought, is the lack of soul to do with the idea that Buddhism is not a religion?
if this is true, does that mean that one is not really a true Buddhist if one does believe in the soul?

thanks,

Old 07-05-2012, 02:02 PM   #2
WaydayTew

hi there, ES

we discussed this topic, recently, here: http://www.buddhismwithoutboundaries...-and-the-heart

in the Buddha's time, term 'atman' ('soul') referred to an intrinsic unchanging essence that is reincarnated from life to life

this can be different to the term 'soul', as used in Christianity, which also includes the meaning a human being's conscience

thus, in Buddhism, our conscience is part of the 'citta', which means 'mind-heart'

on the internet, we can find both of these meanings of 'soul':

soul/sōl/
Noun:

1. The spiritual or immaterial part of a human being or animal, regarded as immortal.

2. A person's moral or emotional nature or sense of identity. thus, if you are referring to 'soul' as your moral or emotional nature, in Buddhism, this is called the 'citta' (mind-heart)

kind regards

element

Old 07-23-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
zueqhbyhp

I have recently think I found the answer to soul...

I feel I understand why Buddha never did acknowledge soul theory...

The soul theory definition is there is another or an entity resides in the body.