LOGO
General Discussion Undecided where to post - do it here.

Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 08-04-2012, 01:51 AM   #1
Seisyvose

Default How to participate in the Liturgy
Hope this doesn't seem silly, but I'm a new convert and I'm still learning

My parish doesn't seem to have a formal choir as such, and most people present join in the singing of the Liturgy. But I can't sing! Should I: (A) try to chant (B) simply speak the words or (C) listen in silence, except for the parts spoken by the entire congregation (the Creed and Confession).

(I assure you that any attempts I might make to sing would detract from the solemnity and beauty of the Liturgy).

Old 08-04-2012, 06:11 AM   #2
Usendyduexy

I would suggest, so long as you have an idea of the singing and can follow along then I would sing slightly until you feel you can sing out loud, as strange as that sounds by so doing you are participating in the singing and learning the words without worrying about singing out loud to the tune.

I remember my family and I being asked to join in when we went to another parish the once, the trouble we did not know most of the tunes they were singing to as it was a Russian parish (we are members of a Greek one) and most of it was in Welsh , in that case the best think to do was just keep silent.

I would also suggest focusing on one hymn such as your parish saint's troparion, when you feel you know the words and tune so that you can sing out loud then do so quietly until you are confidently enough to sing normally, once that is learnt go on to something else such as the Trisagion.

If you are worried you do not have a good voice then don't, most people think they cannot sing well when they can, just sing quietly if you are worried and you should be fine.