Reply to Thread New Thread |
|
![]() |
#1 |
|
So..I was playing a fun 2 man scramble this morning.
I had one of my best striking days and even though our opponent brought in a ringer, we managed to go into #18 all tied up.. They have just removed all 3 traps from around the green and replaced with sod. (they felt the traps made it a bit too hard considering your second shot into this Par 4 had to carry about 165yards on average to a 3-tiered green) The sod was marked as GUR. I hit my second shot pin high onto the sod. I was about 22ft away from the pin. the nearest point of relief would have been about 60ft from the pin since the sod ran down both sides of the green and was all the way up to the edges of the green. After a quick conference with my partner, we decided to play from the "very thick" sod. The ringer cried foul.. I pulled out my rule book and pointed to rule 25-1b which gives me the right to move the ball, but not a requirement to They proceeded to 2-putt for par from about 30ft... I calmly took my 58* and drained it for the match.... The poor sport ringer shook my hand and walked off grumbling.... I downed what was my 5th beer on a very hot day and headed to the car.... I have not felt that good in a long time.... |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
|
My home course has had GUR situations in the past where play was prohibited in the GUR area. I know recently we had a newly sodded area that was marked as GUR and noted on the pin sheet under local rules as "play prohibited". Not sure how rare this is, but I have seen this happen before, but most GUR areas would allow you play the ball as it lies.
We have local rules also prohibiting hitting balls out of flower beds and off wooden bridges. These rules are in place 100% of the time. When I play a course for the first time, I always ask about local rules, but I know most don't even think about it. |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
|
Loved the story. I just might do a Poll Who Carries a rule book with them when playing? It is interesting dont you think. Maybe add it to this thread..... |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
|
The ringer cried foul.. I pulled out my rule book and pointed to rule 25-1b which gives me the right to move the ball, but not a requirement to |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
|
Loved the story. I just might do a Poll Who Carries a rule book with them when playing? It is interesting dont you think. Maybe add it to this thread..... |
![]() |
![]() |
#14 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#17 |
|
Mike, generally I would say that most UK courses will have a Local Rule about GUR. Can't comment about USA as never been there.
I try to keep abreast of changes to rules etc, but as far as I am aware, currently the R&A (and poss USGA) say that if in an area defined as GUR the golfer may take FREE relief of 1 club length from nearest point where full relief is available. It does not say you MUST so there is always the option to play as it lies. However, like you say, if there is a Local Rule stating 'Relief MUST be taken' then the golfer has no other option, he has to drop. I would guess that this is the same the world over, but I may be wrong. It is all golfers responsibility to double check the local rules prior to play. We all must not assume that because a particular local rule applied to a particular part of the course last month, it does today. |
![]() |
Reply to Thread New Thread |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
|