LOGO
Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 02-12-2010, 12:17 PM   #1
soipguibbom

Default How many of you would consider adopting a disabled dog?
In a perfect world,all dogs would have loving responsible homes for life.Most of us probably wouldn't sneeze at adopting a physically normal dog as a companion. What about ''not so physically normal'' dogs? How many of you would willingly adopt a dog who is blind,deaf,missing limbs,or deformed in some way,if you were a good match home otherwise??

Would you chose a disabled dog over a 'normal' dog in the situation? Why or why not?

Old 02-12-2010, 12:24 PM   #2
Tveabuti

Actually I would.

I kind of fantasize about when I retire (if I get to retire) and have the time to devote to caring for more than 1 dog, adopting some seniors and disabled dogs.

Sort of becoming a cross between a canine hospice and grouphome.

I'm a social worker, so I guess it's just in my nature. Kind of a natural progression to turn it from people to dogs.

Old 02-12-2010, 12:25 PM   #3
jacknates

I've fostered deaf dogs and dogs with a missing limb, and to be honest i really wouldn't mind owning one. If the dog was a match for me why not? A dog with a missing limb get along just as well as any other dog and from what i've seen they really don't seem affected by it in anyway.

I would have no problem owning a deaf dog ethier, though it will be harder to get the dogs attention and to correct the dog, the dog isn't 'ruined' by any means Just a little work and some training and the dog is just like any other, the deaf dogs i fostered seemed way more 'in-tune' with me than dogs that can hear normally...If that makes sense

I've never owned a blind dog or fostered a blind dog, but if the dog was a good match and i thought i could work with it than i'd give it a try...