Reply to Thread New Thread |
![]() |
#21 |
|
Other than Fourputt who is a certified rules official, I think there are only 2 of us here who enjoying reading the Rules of Golf - Harry and me. Although I would imagine that SD knows the rules as well as Fourputt. Oh and Ty - he likes the rules too. ![]() I was gonna mention what Diane already did about multiple penalties. There's a little chart in the decisions book that lays out how to handle multiple infractions based on the scenario. I gotta check the USGA site to see if I can get the 2010 decisions book. Thanks for making me think of it! |
![]() |
![]() |
#22 |
|
Decision 1-4/12 is a long read, but it covers many of the possible multiple infraction/multiple act scenarios.
1-4/12 Player Breaches Rules More Than Once Prior to Stroke; Whether Multiple Penalties Applied Prior to making a stroke, there may be circumstances where a player breaches a Rule more than once, or breaches different Rules and it would seem that a penalty should be applied to each separate breach. However, in the majority of cases and based on equity (Rule 1-4), it would not be appropriate to apply multiple penalties. For the purpose of applying the principles in this Decision, Rules 4-3a, 4-3b, 4-3c, 13-4a, 13-4b, 13-4c, 14-2a, 14-2b, 17-3a, 17-3b, 17-3c, 18-2a and 18-2b should be considered as separate Rules. Below are the specific principles to be applied when determining whether multiple penalties are appropriate when more than one breach has occurred prior to a player making a stroke: 1. Single Act Results in One Rule Being Breached More Than Once — Single Penalty Applied Example: In stroke play, a competitor's ball on the putting green strikes a fellow-competitor's ball in breach of Rule 19-5 and then strikes another fellow-competitor's ball, also in breach of Rule 19-5. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty (see Decision 19-5/3). 2. Single Act Results in Two Rules Being Breached — Single Penalty Applied Example: In stroke play, a competitor is considering putting his ball from a bunker and rakes a footprint in the bunker on his line of play. Both Rule 13-2 and Rule 13-4a have been breached. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty. 3. Multiple Occurrences of the Same or Similar Acts Result in One Rule Being Breached More Than Once — Single Penalty Applied Example 1: In stroke play, a competitor takes several practice swings in a hazard, touching the ground each time. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty (see Decision 13-4/3). Example 2: In stroke play, a player removes sand on his line of play through the green and presses down a replaced divot which is also on his line of play. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty. 4. Different Acts Result in Two Rules Being Breached, but Breach of Second Rule Is a Direct Consequence of the Initial Breach — Single Penalty Applied Example: In stroke play, a competitor's ball moves prior to address and while it is in motion it is accidentally stopped by the competitor's club in breach of Rule 19-2. The competitor then moves the club and, therefore, moves his ball, normally a penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a. This would result in a single one-stroke penalty under Rule 19-2 (see Decision 19-2/1.5). If the ball is not replaced before the competitor makes his next stroke, the failure to replace the ball is considered a separate act and he incurs an additional penalty of two strokes under Rule 18-2a. 5. Different Acts Result in Two Rules Being Breached — Multiple Penalties Applied Example: In stroke play, a competitor (1) touches the ground in a hazard with his club while taking practice swings in a hazard and (2) improves his line of play by bending a shrub with his hand. The ruling would be a two-stroke penalty under Rule 13-4 (touching the ground in a hazard with his club) and a further penalty of two strokes under Rule 13-2 (improving his line of play by moving something growing), giving a total penalty of four strokes (see Decision 13-4/28). 6. Different Acts Result in One Rule Being Breached More Than Once — Multiple Penalties Applied Example: In stroke play, a competitor (1) purposely steps on another player's line of putt with the intention of improving the line, and then (2) purposely stops his own ball in motion after it began moving without apparent cause before address. The ruling would be two separate penalties, each of two strokes, for breaches of Rule 1-2, giving a total penalty of four strokes. |
![]() |
![]() |
#24 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#25 |
|
Example 2: In stroke play, a player removes sand on his line of play through the green and presses down a replaced divot which is also on his line of play. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty.
Wait, does this mean that when putting, I can't move a twig out of my line, or repair a ball mark in my line that someone left behind? ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#26 |
|
Example 2: In stroke play, a player removes sand on his line of play through the green and presses down a replaced divot which is also on his line of play. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty. 16-1. General a. Touching Line of Putt The line of putt must not be touched except: (i) the player may remove loose impediments, provided he does not press anything down; (ii) the player may place the club in front of the ball when addressing it, provided he does not press anything down; (iii) in measuring - Rule 18-6; (iv) in lifting or replacing the ball - Rule 16-1b; (v) in pressing down a ball-marker; (vi) in repairing old hole plugs or ball marks on the putting green - Rule 16-1c; and (vii) in removing movable obstructions - Rule 24-1. [/QUOTE]</H5> |
![]() |
![]() |
#27 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#29 |
|
Example 2: In stroke play, a player removes sand on his line of play through the green and presses down a replaced divot which is also on his line of play. The ruling would be a single two-stroke penalty. |
![]() |
Reply to Thread New Thread |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests) | |
|