View Single Post
Old 10-02-2012, 09:01 AM   #19
Zfdeisde

Join Date
Nov 2005
Posts
420
Senior Member
Default
As stated, I've got a few ruling questions that I could use some clarification help with...

1) On a par four today, I hit a really nice drive, but there was a yardage marker about a foot, maybe less, in front of my ball. It was a square, concrete or rock type marker - maybe 3 feet high or so. I don't think moving it was an option, but it obviously obstructed my shot. I gave myself relief but not sure what the actual ruling is. If it's a penalty, that seems pretty unfair because it's an unnatural object. IMO, if it penalizes the player it shouldn't be there - just put a round marker in the ground instead of a three feet tall concret marker. Seems like if you get relief from a sprinkler head, you should from a concrete marker too.

2) I hit a ball in the water but the water didn't have any hazard markers, not red or yellow. So, should you go back to the tee and play it as a lost ball or is water a hazard all the time, regardless if there is a red marker present.

3) Let's say your ball goes into a red marked water hazard. Where do you stand to take your drop? On the red line surrounding the water? Right on the bank/edge of the water? Just inside the red line?

Thanks guys!
1. Yes, you get one club length's relief from the nearest point of relief (NPR) from the man-made immovable obstruction. No penalty strokes are incurred.

2. Yes, you go back and hit from the tee under penalty of 1 stroke and distance, as your ball is unplayable under Rule 28. Water must be marked as a hazard (lateral or otherwise) for the hazard rules regarding dropping under penalty of stroke only to apply.

3. It's not so important where you stand but where your ball is dropped, as per the rules (within 2 club length's of the NPR under penalty of 1 stroke).
Zfdeisde is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:18 AM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity