View Single Post
Old 08-03-2010, 08:25 PM   #14
illignocearia

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
554
Senior Member
Default
I'm going with this answer! But since player #2 found player #1's ball, then it should still be playable!
A little lesson in golf terminology. A ball can be in play, yet still be unplayable. In this case that is what happened.

The ball in play was found before Player A did anything to cause it to be deemed lost, so it remained the ball in play. However, because of it's location deep in the woods, he was forced to deem it unplayable and proceed under one of the options described in Rule 28. In this case option a is apparently the only practicable way to go.

Here is the primary definition for ball in play:

Ball in Play

A ball is "in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground. It remains in play until it is holed, except when it is lost, out of bounds or lifted, or another ball has been substituted, whether or not the substitution is permitted; a ball so substituted becomes the ball in play.
illignocearia is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:41 PM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity